Posted by: Moon | May 20, 2011

As I turn 40…….

Talking to a new friend on Twitter who hit her 39th Birthday a few days back, it got me thinking about my up and coming ‘bigger’ birthday. On Tuesday, the 24th I turn 40. Being the youngest of 4, and the youngest in a family of 7 children (cousins) I have seen all theirs come and go, and really not paid too much attention to it…..

Do I worry about the number… not really, but I guess it is cause for me, for the first time in a very long time, to actually get a little excited about a birthday. I remember my 18th very fondly, as it matched my Dad’s 50th. I end of May BBQ in the back garden during the long bank holiday weekend, happy family and friends, and a fond memory of Dad. My 21st was a beach party…. Think it was good, just a drunk party from what I remember, and a 30th that was a true surprise gathering of friends again at home.

Since then, I have had nice birthdays, but I am not really a huge celebrator, all I ever want is some quality time with the people that I love. For my 40th, sadly I will be away from most of them, but I also will be spending my first ever birthday with one of the biggest loves of my love, Matej Samuel… How perfect will that be. I also feel excited as I know that my wife, who never ever stops thinking of me and how to help me settle here will get together my new friends here in Slovakia. They are already very dear to me, and it is looking forward to my next 40 yrs that will be spent here, with these new friends that gets me excited about it.

Presents really don’t mean that much. I can buy pretty much what I like, and with us building our house, there is no chance of that magical trip away which I always would love, but I am excited. I don’t know why….

Do I look back in satisfaction of my first 40 years .. actually I do. I often say to people, “how did I end up here” …. I guess we can all say that, but I got here through some troubles… some my own daft doing, some not, through the death of my Dad, a Divorce, travel, an incredibly loving, supportive family and now into the best years of my life with Mrs M and Matej ….

Wonder what happens next ?.. I predict a quieter time, less travel, hopefully another jnr, settling into our new house and building of new friends as well as desperately holding onto the few, close friends I have.

I’m a lucky man, and I intend to make the best out of the luck I have. You get lucky at the start. You might be lucky to find $10 in the street, but what you do with it after that is not luck. I intend to take all this luck, sense of adventure, intrigue into this new part of the world… and to live it all to the full …….

I have a belief, “Never die wondering”, and I think, whatever people might say of me at 40, the one thing they can never accuse me off is not taking chances, not having a go, trying something out……I hope that is what people would say of me..

What would you say of me as I hit 40 ?

Responses

  1. I saw a lovely quote on a friend’s Facebook page the other day:

    “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

    • I totally agree, and if you don’t like something, get off your arse and change it, don’t just moan about it ! ……. I think its safe to say we both have taken a few chances !

  2. the best is yet to come!

    • I certainly hope so !

  3. Happy Birthday! Live and laugh even when you’re down. Regret nothing as that’s what shapes you and everything happens for the best. 🙂

    • I do regret a few minor things, I think everyone does, but I so love the chances I have taken !

  4. “Presents really don’t mean that much” – excellent, since I only got you a card!

    • It’s the thought that counts …


Leave a Reply

Categories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

