Posted by: Moon | April 8, 2011

Some honest answers …

So, my first ever ‘tagging’, which I thought was a rude thing like ‘Dogging’, but as it came from my lovely Cousin EM, I guess it def isn’t ..

So, wanna know a bit more about me, and if I come into the ‘Want to have a beer with me’ or the ‘knob’ category .. read away !

Which living person do you most admire, and why?

I hold many people in admiration, lots of sportsmen mostly, as I have played most sports to varying success, to be that good to be a professional.. well, that’s just amazing. I admire those who get off their arse to do something, to change things when they are unhappy rather than to just except and moan, but the one person I admire more than anyone is quite simply my Ma. She had 4 of us kids within 5 and half years, she bought up 4 respectable, honest, polite children. She lost Dad when she was 50 after 30 yrs of marriage, and yes, she does still have terribly low moments, she got up, and did the things she wanted, which was to travel, and I have lost count of the places she has been to. She still works a 37 Hr week on her feet, looks after a beautiful garden, and is now a wonderful Grandma !

When were you happiest

I was a very contented person after I had finally shed the divorce feeling, and found happiness being by myself, that was a very important phase and point of my life to get to, but, I have to say right now, I nearly have all I want, once I have my family home, I will have all I ever dreamt of having

What was your most embarrassing moment?

Probably my first experience of ladies boobs, aged about 13 I guess, invited to an informal stag do, and the stripper, with huge fun bags removed my glasses and smothered me ….

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve bought?

A Car, at 35, divorce all sorted, I bought my dream car, BMW 330 Sport. Loved it, did that, sold it… happy I have done the fast car part of my life.

What is your most treasured possession?

I would have to say Matej, but that’s cheating, as a possession, I am not a possession person, but I think it is a pocket watch Ma gave me of Dads, and a gold coin I have that he was given to him by Haile Selassie, the Emperor of Ethiopia on his African travels.

Where would you like to live?

Right where I am now, actually, scrub that, 2 miles from where I live now, in my house. I have lived in 4 countries now, and everyone was my home, I am happy wherever I live, as long as I have my family with me. I am no City boy, I am a country lad, happy in a small village and places with character.

What’s your favourite smell?

My little Boys head, hair and skin….

Who would play you in the film of your life?

I would have Jason Statham

What is your favourite book?

I wanted to put Razzle here, but then I went all serious …Currently I am trying to expand my reading, but I love to read, Lord of The Rings will always be my favorite, I read it for the first time in the mountains of Nepal, the perfect place, and a long time before the films came along……

What is your most unappealing habit?

Apparently leaving dirty washing on the floor, right next to the washing basket …

What would be your fancy dress costume of choice?

Gorilla Suit ….How much fun have people had in Gorilla suits over the years ?

What is your earliest memory?

The hot summer of ‘76 I would think…

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Chocolate, I am seriously addicted to the stuff.

What do you owe your parents?

I am thinking, like everyone in this world, everything I am.

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?

No-one. I don’t believe in leaving things unsaid. I am very quick to say sorry and admit when I am wrong, I could die tomorrow, and there is not one person I would wish I had said sorry to..

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Close would be Glenn Hoddle, Sir Ian Botham, Sachin Tendulkar, Kylie , Jenny Anniston and Cyndy Crawford….. but…. My Wife, no doubts about it, my soul mate, my friend, my lover and the single person that drives me on.

What does love feel like?

If you can explain it, then it’s not love

What was the best kiss of your life?

I will never forget it, sat in a car, outside a certain flat in Highgate, after our first date ….. you know who you are !.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

“indeed” and the ‘C’ word… apparently

What is the worst job you’ve done?

For 4 weeks I was de-nailing wood in an old wool store in the Port of Adelaide. They we destroying an old wool warehouse, and the wood was old and reusable for furniture, but the old floorboard needed the nail removing. It was filthy, lonely work, and after 4 weeks, my left handed developed a claw like appearance, and I spent weeks getting lanolin out of every nook and crannie !.

If you could edit your past, what would you change?

My school life, I would have wanted my parents to push me harder..

What is the closest you’ve come to death?

I have had 7 general anesthetics, so they are always dangerous, but other than that, I can’t really say anything.. dull huh ! Maybe I just have a lucky rabbits foot somewhere ????

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

The ability to travel and settle in other countries, and yes, I think moving to Slovakia is probably the best I have every achieved

When did you last cry, and why?

7 Months ago, the birth of my Son… and still he makes me cry with happiness and proudness

How do you relax?

Used to be golf, a beer and a cigar and good friend, currently it’s hard to say, life is so busy and stressful right now, but I know that soon I can relax with the sun setting, a book, and a beer and cigar on my new terrace !.

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?

My House….. please please, I need my hose to be finished.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Live life for now, take the risks and never to die wondering. Yes, you might get it wrong, and yes you might regret doing it, and yes, it might cost you money, but at least you will know that you tried…. I took the biggest risk of my life a few years back, gave up my country, a wonderful job in The City and left. No idea if it would work…… but it did, and I am so glad I took the risk… go for it. My Dad’s death at only 52 taught me that you best go and enjoy life now, because you never know what’s gonna happen.

Responses

  1. Thanks for writing this. I really feel like I have got to know you a little now 🙂

  2. For the good I hope ???

  3. Jason Statham?

    Bwahahahahaaaaa!

    • What ?!?!?!?! Spitting Image !

  4. 🙂 always manage to surprise me 🙂

  5. It’s always nice to learn more about people thanks for sharing xx

    • Always nice to get sensible at times x

  6. I’m happy to announce that you fall firmly in the PINT category =)

    xx

    • thank fuck for that !


Leave a Reply

Categories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

