Posted by: Moon | May 4, 2010

Number 13 – Poon Hill

Now we are going back .. waaaaay back. Sorry for the lack of quality photo’s, but this was before my love pf photography kicked in. Infact, would you believed I traveled to the Himalayas without a camera. Truth be told, this trip came a bit too soon for me. I was only 23 I think, and I didn’t appreciate the place enough. It was the first ‘travelling’ I had ever done, and it started off my desire to explore, and go off the beaten trail abit. The trip came about nearly 2 years after my Dad died.

Ma said to me one day “Do you fancy a trip to Nepal and Kathmandu” …..

Me : “Do bears shit in the woods ?”

Ma : “with language like that you’ll get a slap!”

(The first 7 are my photos, the others I have borrowed to show you the true beauty of Poon Hill)

The start of the long trek to Poon Hill

A cold dawn before Poon Hill.. waking up to the magnificent White Caps

A Well earned beer ...

Me and my Ma

and off we went. a 21 day tour of Kathmandu, Pokora, Chatwan National Park (my first Elephant Encounters) and a 15 day trek in the Annapurna Ranges. I was too young to listen and take in the wonderful world, but it was good for my soul, and I loved it. The trekking was wonderful, and to see 4-5 mountain tops exceeding 8000m was amazing, and from a distance to see the top of the world still lives with me.

The pinnacle of the trek for me was a night camp at Ghorepani . We had climbed most days up to this point. The sun shone, and as we tucked into our tents (it was a late one that night, must have been 9pm!) we had the option of rising at 4am to scale the final 100om to the summit of Poon Hill.  No way was I going to spend a morning in the tent with this sight promised ahead of us. We woke a little late, so it was a rushed trip. 1000m sound easy for a fit 23 yr old… not at that altitude it wasn’t. After a few stops, and lots of sweat I made it up there. Mum was lagging behind, and at one point decided to wait halfway up, only to be told she would regret it for the rest of her life. She just arrived in time… The sun peaked over the mountains, and lit the 8000m snow caps perfectly (Oh to of had my cameras there).

It was breathtaking, and for me, very spiritual and moving. With Dad firmly in my mind, to be there with Mum, and to watch the day break over such monstrous mountains … tears flowed. We held each other for comfort, Mother and Son, thinking of our missed Dad/husband. Was it that that made this place so special ?, Was it the 10 days of hard slog to get there ?, was it the strong bond that I was making with my Ma ?… I don’t know, but the tears flowed, and even now I can still feel that moment when the sun touched the great tips of the snow caps. It was an amazing morning, the silence, the fresh air, the cold… and then the light.. the sun, the warmth of that morning… An incredible moment in my life, and a beautiful setting to share such emotions on such a huge scale. From that day I had discovered this urge to travel. From here I made up my mind to see parts of the world that your normal holiday Brit might not…. so, I will always remember this place in my heart, and it made a remarkable change in my life.

Who would have thought, that at 23, I had climbed into the roof of the world, gone through the mystical delight of Kathmandu, walked though forests of leeches, climbed up to 12,00 feet and watched the sun light a new part of me inside.. the love of travel and new places.

Mum and Dad were with me that day to show me what I could achieve, and there was no place on earth I couldn’t visit if I wanted to.

Responses

  1. It makes me smile while reading it. What an amazing place.

    Cute picture of you my husband….

    • even with the long hair and beard ???

  2. Quite an adventure for first time out! Can’t help thinking you had more hair back then, and you obviously were working on your appreciation of the “suds”. I do look forward to the next 12, I expect some wonderful surprises.

    • Just longer hair.. the hairline is the same …. .. who knows where 12 might be … in the whistle stop tour of Moon’s Travels !

  3. Ah so it’s all your parents’ fault! Yep did the same to one of my kids, instilled the wonderlust but not with anything as spectacular as this . . a trip to Disneyland did the trick! My you were a high-pantser!

  4. Great to meet you! What a powerful post – can completely relate having lost my father a while ago.

    Look forward to following your blog and thank you for adding me to your blogroll – I will do the same 🙂

  5. Awww .. Moon, you are quite poetic at times! What a wonderful experience for you and for your Mom, too.

    And don’t you look like your Dad!! Quite extraordinary!

  6. We did the Annapurna trek late 2008 and did Poon Hill on the way down. One big slog uphill for those coming the other way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

