Posted by: Moon | April 15, 2010

A ‘Thing’ for Kat Von D ……

It’s a weird thing, but I seemed to have developed a bit of a crush on Kat Von D…. no reason, she certainly isn’t my type.. but there you go !

She is the ‘star’ of LA Ink, a show we have started watching, and I can say that I really like. I didn’t think I was much of a fan of tattoos, but, now I have one myself, and watching this, I can really appreciate the skills and artwork of these people. It is art, make no mistake, and these guys are extremely talented. Some of the tattoos they do are stunning. They might not be my choice, but they are very, very good.

This is the tattoo I currently have, I am very happy with it, and it means a lot to me. I got this done just before I left to live in the USA and it reminds me of all the great times I have shared with some very close friends, at a place that means so much to me. It was done by a very miserable fella in Dunstable Mad Uncle A knows, and as miserable as he is (the tatoo artist, not Mad Uncle A) it’s a great tattoo I am very happy with.  I am def going to get a second one, and I really like the idea of the St Georges Flag, either on the shield of St George, or maybe twisted and tied to the Slovak flag….. we will see….

If you get chance, just have a watch of either LA Ink or Miami Ink, and it shows that so many people judge others as soon as they see a tattoo, when in reality, there people are great artists whose canvass happens to be skin !

Responses

  1. I got my first tat when I was 52, want to get another one, something Celtic but I can’t find anything I like. For me it represents a rough period of my life that I came through. Both my sons and daughter have tattoos, so I was the last to get one.

  2. I didn’t used to like tattoos, and I’m afraid I did tend to judge people on them when I was young. But I have to say that Johnny Depp with all his many tattoos, being such an incredible sweet person and all round huge talent, has helped swing my opinion and now I positively like them. He made me realise that most people get them as a kind of tribute to someone, or memory of a great era in their lives or an important event. I love the fact that he has his daughter’s name over his heart.

    Of course, they have to be tasteful and well done, and I’ve seen some real doozies, but a good tattoo is indeed a work of art.

  3. Gawd I have trouble gettting a flu jab! We have a lot of Islanders and Maoris here, there tats a reflective of their ancestry and quite beautiful but can’t see me getting one any time soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

